Activity Category: Parks and Scenery
Admiralty Head Lighthouse was the first lighthouse in Puget Sound. It and Fort Casey are the two main attractions in Fort Casey State Park.
The original lighthouse was built in 1861, but the military wanted that spot for Fort Casey, so the current lighthouse was built in 1903.
The lighthouse is closed for renovation work and is scheduled to reopen in late summer. But, the gift shop and interpretive center has been temporarily located in the large green office building on the left before the parking lot by the fort.
When open, visitors can climb into the lighthouse for a great view of Admiralty Inlet and the Olympic Mountains.
The lighthouse is also a popular spot for weddings.